NEWS RELEASE



(816) 232-4461

3003 Frederick Ave. | St. Joseph, MO 64506 saintjoseph.com

March 23, 2023

CONTACT: Kristi Bailey, Director of Communications & Marketing St. Joseph Chamber of Commerce 816-364-4108 or bailey@saintjoseph.com

DAN HEGEMAN INDUCTED INTO AG HALL OF FAME

(St. Joseph, MO) -- Former Missouri State Sen. Dan Hegeman was inducted into the Ag Hall of Fame at the St. Joseph Chamber of Commerce Farm City Breakfast last week.

Hegeman is a lifetime farmer of a six-generation, family-owned row crop and cattle operation in Andrew County. His brother Fritz Hegeman currently runs the farm as Hegeman serves as a Senior Community Business Manager at Evergy.

A 1981 graduate of Savannah High School, he received a bachelor's degree from the University of Missouri in 1985, where he was a member of the Alpha Gamma Rho agriculture fraternity. He is a former president of the Andrew County University of Missouri Extension Council and former President of the Andrew County Farm Bureau. He was first elected to public office in 1991 as state representative. He later served as Andrew County Clerk and then Senator, concluding 24 years of elected public service when his term limited in 2022.

Hegeman and his wife, Fran, live near their farm in Cosby and have four children. He has been a lifelong member of Hope United Christian Church of Christ in Cosby and also is a member of the Cosby Masonic Lodge No. 600, Moila Shrine Temple and the St. Joseph Swiss Lodge. He has served on numerous boards and received many awards for his community service.

The Ag Hall of Fame induction was made in front of about 600 people at the annual event, which is a fundraiser for Agriculture Future of America (AFA) scholarships. These are given to local students pursuing agricultural-related degrees.

Past inductees into the Ag Hall of Fame include:

Gene Millard - 2006 John Saunders - 2007 Larry Ehlert - 2008 Elbert Turner - 2008 Sidney Johnson - 2009 Sheri and Richard Spader - 2010 Wes Remington -2011 Donnie Miller – 2012 Dave Cox - 2013

Fred Hannah-2014 Tom Brandt – 2015 Dean Habrock - 2016 Gary Exline - 2017 Terry McClatchey - 2018 Terry Cotton - 2019 Greg Clement - 2020 Bob Wollenman - 2021 Andrew McCrea -- 2022

The Farm City Breakfast is presented by LifeLine Foods.